Location type


Name and dates

Cathcart (1894-)

Station code: CCT National Rail ScotRail
Where: Glasgow City, Scotland
Opened on the Cathcart District Railway.
Open on the Cathcart Circle.
Open on the Neilston Line.


Cathcart station has an island platform, original station building with glazed canopies, and is above road level. It is an intermediate station on the Cathcart Circle. The north east end of the station is on the girder bridge above the White Cart Water. A former entry arch from Old Castle Road is blocked.

The station replaces a temporary terminus Cathcart [1st] which was to the east.

The station was on the Cathcart District Railway.

The former Lanarkshire and Ayrshire Railway approaches the station from Neilston and Newton, all four lines meet at Cathcart West Junction. A train from Neilston may call at the station, but due to the layout one from Newton may not, although it may join the Cathcart Circle. The junction layout was altered in 1961, see Cathcart West Junction for more details. The west end of the station was cut back to accommodate this and the north end of the platform extended. This was in preparation for electrification which was completed in 1962.

The White Cart Water Viaduct crosses the White Cart Water just to the south on a bridge parallel to the station bridge.

On the Cathcart Circle the next station to the west is Langside and to the north is Mount Florida. On the Neilston line the next station is Muirend to the west and on the Newton line the next station is Kings Park.


Station White Cart Water

External links

Canmore site record
NLS Collection OS map of 1892-1914
NLS Collection OS map of 1944-67


19/03/1894Cathcart District Railway
Cathcart (New) opened on extension Line, replacing Cathcart [1st]. The new station was very briefly a terminus.
02/04/1894Cathcart District Railway
Extension line opened from Cathcart (New) to Muirhouse Junction for passengers and goods. Stations opened at Langside, Pollokshaws East, Shawlands, Maxwell Park and Pollokshields West.
  /  /1897Lanarkshire and Ayrshire Railway
Giffen Junction to Newton, Lugton L and A Junction, Clarkston West Junction to Clarkston East Junction, Muirend to Clarkston East Junction, Kirkhill Junction to Newton, Kirkhill Junction to Westburn Junction, Cathcart West Junction to Cathcart, two single track Cathcart East Junction to Cathcart North Junction links. Railways 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 authorised to be made by the Caledonian Railway.
01/05/1903Lanarkshire and Ayrshire Railway
Giffen Junction to Cathcart opened for passengers. Lugton [CR], Uplawmoor [1st], Neilston, Patterton, Whitecraigs station opened.
06/01/1904Lanarkshire and Ayrshire Railway
Newton to Cathcart and Clarkston West Junction opened for goods and minerals.
01/08/1904Lanarkshire and Ayrshire Railway
Mount Florida and Cathcart to Newton and Kirkhill Junction to Westburn Junction opened for passengers. Burnside and Kirkhill stations opened.
25/01/1958Cathcart District Railway
Cathcart station fire.
29/05/1962Glasgow South Bank Electrification
Cathcart Circle, Cathcart to Neilston and Cathcart to Motherwell via Kirkhill electrified.