Location type


Name and dates

Cupar (1847-)

Opened on the Edinburgh and Northern Railway.

Open on the Edinburgh to Dundee.


This is a two platform station dating from 1847. The architect of the main station building on the northbound platform is thought to be David Bell. The central portion is two storey with a double arched entry. To the sides are single storey wings which link to two storey blocks on either side. A flat roofed canopy runs the full length on the platform side. The building on the southbound platform is built to a later standard North British Railway style.

There were formerly three tracks between the platforms, but the centre line has been lifted. At the west end of the station is a three arch bridge carrying Station Road. Nothing passes through the south arch, the westbound and lifted centre line passed the centre arch and the eastbound passes through the north arch.

There were two yards - a goods yard which is now the car park next to the station building and a coal and grain yard to the north east. Both yards were to the north of the line and accessed from the east.

With the removal of the goods yards, there is a space between the signal box and the running lines.

The coal staithes and granary ('A' listed) have been renovated for office use.

The main station building is now the Cupar Museum and Heritage Centre .

The Artline - Art and Heritage on the railway in Fife


Cupar and District Model Railway Club




External links

Canmore site record
NLS Collection OS map of 1892-1914
NLS Collection OS map of 1944-67


Listing: B


31/07/1845Edinburgh and Northern Railway
Act receives Royal assent. Mainline from Burntisland to Perth via Ladybank. Branches from Ladybank to Cupar and Kirkcaldy to the harbour. The Perth station was to be by the Dundee and Perth Railway station.
17/09/1847Edinburgh and Northern Railway
Opened from Burntisland to Lindores and Cupar. Stations at Burntisland [1st], Kinghorn, Kirkcaldy, Sinclairtown, Dysart, Thornton, Markinch, Falkland Road, Kingskettle, Ladybank, Collessie, Lindores [1st], Springfield and Cupar.