Alloway Junction (1906-1968)
Opened on the Ayr and Dalmellington Railway.
This was a junction south of Ayr. It was the junction between the 1906 Maidens and Dunure Light Railway (Glasgow and South Western Railway) (Carrick Coast line) and the 1856 Ayr and Dalmellington Railway.
This was a double track junction and the Carrick Coast line dropped to a single track a little south of the junction. The signal box was located in the 'V' of the junction. It opened with the junction.
The Carrick Coast line closed south of Heads of Ayr [2nd] (excluded) in 1955. The line remained open for the Butlins Holiday Camp at Heads of Ayr until 1968.
The main line remains open as a double track line, the branch is overgrown close to the junction.
Maybole Junction [Station]
Ayr Shed [1st]
Heads of Ayr [2nd]
Heads of Ayr [1st)
Other railway and industry locations
Ayr Cattle Market Sidings
Townhead EMU Sidings
Belmont Level Crossing
Tam O^Shanter Experience
Old Bridge of Doon
Ayr Station Hotel
|Location names in dark blue are on the same original line.|
A Regional History of the Railways of Great Britain: Scotland - The Lowlands and the Borders v. 6 (Regional railway history series)
Locomotive Apprentice: At the North British Locomotive Company
Rails to Turnberry and Heads of Ayr: The Maidens & Dunure Light Railway & the Butlin's Branch (Oakwood Library of Railway History)
Tales of the Glasgow and South Western Railway