A History of Britain’s Railways

A train near Fountainhall on a pretty section of the re-opened railway.

Edinburgh and Hawick Railway (North British Railway) Tags: Moorland Farmland Main line Scotland
Opened by North British Railway

This railway has largely re-opened as the Borders Railway (Network Rail).

The line was an integral part of the former Waverley Route from Edinburgh to Carlisle via Galashiels and Hawick.

Originally to be built by the Edinburgh and Hawick Railway Company, the company was bought by the North British Railway before construction began and was opened as the larger company's Hawick Branch.

The line closed in 1969.

It re-opened in 2015 from Sheriffhall south to Galashiels and Tweedbank on the 6th of September.

The northern portion from Portobello East Junction to Niddrie South Junction never closed and Brunstane station opened in 2002. Newcraighall opened on a portion of the Edinburgh and Dalkeith Railway at the same time. From Newcraighall a new line, the Millerhill Deviation (Network Rail) takes the line south to Sheriffhall via a new station at Shawfair.


Most recently added photographs

ScotRail 158740 pulls away from the platform at Newtongrange on 9 July 2017 with the 1011 Edinburgh - Tweedbank.
09/07/2017 John Furnevel


Scene at Hawick on Sunday 5 January 1969 with Deltic D9007 Pinza leaving for the north with the RCTS Farewell to the Waverley Route railtour. Clayton D8606 is station pilot over on the left.
05/01/1969 Bruce McCartney


A mid-morning Tweedbank - Edinburgh service runs north under the footbridge linking High and Low Buckholmside shortly after leaving Galashiels station on 16 June 2017.
16/06/2017 John Furnevel


Coffee stop at the end of a country lane at Bowland Bridge watching a flight of swallows catching insects along the surface of the Gala Water - camera at the ready. Silence broken by the sound of a diesel engine on an approaching train. Enter stage right the 1159 Tweedbank – Edinburgh Waverley, next stop Gorebridge. The train is running through the site of Bowland station, opened by the NB in 1848 (renamed Bowland Bridge between 1849 and 1862) and closed by BR in 1953.
16/06/2016 John Furnevel


An early 1960s view north towards the original Galashiels station (closed January 1969) showing much of the railway 'estate' of the time. A 'Peak' is leaving for the south with train IM88, the up Waverley. Over on the left is the goods yard, with the locomotive shed on the right (officially closed in April 1962). Running across the centre background is the 1938 bridge carrying Station Brae, while the distinctive church of Our Lady and St Andrew (1876) continues to provide a link with today's scene.
// Dougie Squance (Courtesy Bruce McCartney)

Galashiels [1st]

All photographs of Edinburgh and Hawick Railway (North British Railway).

Map controls

Add additional layers


Show locations

Show map introduction


How to use the map.

This map is interactive. Below the map is a slider which can be moved to change the date. For complicated maps, don't move the slider too quickly! The date may also be typed in, this defaults to the present year. To the right is a 'tab' for Map controls. In particular you can try pressing the buttons Open lines only followed by Animate dates. Further detail can be added with Goods only lines, All locations and Roads and canals, but note that adding these will slow down the slider and animation. Location layers can be shown or hidden using the Show locations checkboxes.

Clicking on a location or other line will take you to the relevant page. Only locations on, or served by, the line are shown, for other locations click All locations.

This message will only appear once - a cookie 'mapintro' is saved to prevent re-display.

Why built

This line was built to carry passengers, goods and livestock from the border towns of Hawick, Newtown St Boswells, Galashiels and the surrounding area to Edinburgh.

The re-opened line carries a passenger service from Tweedbank via Galashiels, where there is a transport interchange, north to Edinburgh.


//1845 Act receives Royal assent.
//1845 Edinburgh and Hawick Railway (as yet unbuilt) absorbed by North British Railway.
14/07/1847 {{Portobello East Junction}} to {{Niddrie South Junction}}, {{Cairnie}} to {{Millerhill}}, re-alignment at {{Sheriffhall}} and {{Dalhousie}} to {{Gorebridge}} opened.
01/05/1848 Line extended from {{Gorebridge}} to {{Bowland}}.
20/04/1849 Line opened from Bowland to Hawick.
/10/1852 Newstead station closed
01/07/1862 Hawick 1st closed to passengers on opening of the Border Union Railway (North British Railway).
//1870 Fountainhall station masters house built.
17/07/1871 Auction Mart started by John Swan & Sons by the St Boswells station
14/12/1916 A major landslip at {{Ladhope Tunnel}}, just west of {{Galashiels}} station, blocks line.
//1923 {{Melrose}} station's timber roof removed.
//1964 {{Fountainhall}} becomes de-staffed.
06/01/1969 Edinburgh ({{Portobello East Junction}}) to Hawick to Carlisle ({{Port Carlisle Junction}}) closed to passengers. {{Newtongrange}}, {{Gorebridge}}, {{Tynehead}}, {{Heriot}}, {{Fountainhall}}, {{Stow}}, {{Galashiels 1st}}, {{Melrose}}, {{St Boswells}}, {{Hassendean}}, {{Hawick 2nd}}, {{Stobs}}, {{Shankend}}, {{Riccarton Junction}}, {{Steele Road}}, {{Newcastleton}} stations closed.
28/04/1969 Gorebridge, {{Lady Victoria Pit}}, (excluded) to {{Hawick 2nd}} officially closed to goods.
//1972 Line closed between Gorebridge ({{Lady Victoria Pit}}) and {{Millerhill Junction}} (excluded). The {{Carlisle Arrival Sidings}} at Millerhill and a short section south remained, used by trains rounding the Monktonhall Curve to access {{Millerhills Down Yard}}.
//1989 Millerhill Yard Junction (by Millerhill MPD, approximate location of the former Cairnie station) to Millerhill Junction (south of the former Millerhill station) closed.
03/06/2002 {{Portobello East Junction}} to {{Niddrie South Junction}} and Niddrie South Junction to {{Newcraighall}} re-opened to passengers with a stations at {{Brunstane}} and {{Newcraighall}}. A long reversing spur was provided south of Newcraighall from the new {{Newcraighall Junction}}.
06/09/2015 {{Newcraighall North Junction}} to Tweedbank opened to passengers with stations at {{Shawfair}}, {{Eskbank}}, {{Newtongrange}}, {{Gorebridge}}, {{Stow}}, {{Galashiels}} and {{Tweedbank}}. {{Newcraighall Junction}} renamed {{Newcraighall South Junction}}.


The re-opened line carries passengers from Tweedbank and Galashiels to Edinburgh Waverley.


The original line ran south from Dalhousie to Gorebridge, Galashiels, Newtown St Boswells and Hawick. As built the line was double track and the northern approach, via the Edinburgh and Dalkeith Railway, was re-gauged and partly re-aligned. A short section was also opened from Portobello East Junction to Niddrie South Junction upon which the 2002 Brunstane station opened, whereas Newcraighall is on the older Edinburgh and Dalkeith Railway.

Portobello East Junction
Joppa [1st]
Niddrie North Junction
Niddrie Junction [2nd]
Niddrie South Junction
Millerhill Junction
Fushiebridge Junction
Tynehead Junction
Galabank Junction
Bowland Junction
Sheriffhall [2nd]
Fushiebridge [1st]
Newbattle Viaduct
Newtongrange [1st]
Lady Victoria Pit Signalbox
Borthwick Bank Signalbox
Falahill Summit
Bowshank Tunnel
Kilnknowe Junction
Ladhope Tunnel
Galashiels [1st]
Galashiels Shed
Selkirk Junction
Darnick Siding
Newstead [Melrose]
Ravenswood Junction
St Boswells
St Boswells Shed
Kelso Junction
Charlesfield Halt
Greenend Siding
Standhill Siding
Hawick Shed
Hawick [1st]

Related books

Column 'priority' in order clause is ambiguous