4/6/1838Great Western RailwayFirst part of Great Western Railway opened from Paddington (Old) to Maidenhead (Old) opened. Stations on this section at: Paddington, Royal Oak, Westbourne Park, Acton, Ealing Broadway, West Ealing, Hanwell & Elthorne, Southall, Hayes & Harlington, West Drayton & Yiewsley, Iver, Langley, Slough, Burham, Taplow, and Maidenhead.
6/4/1839Great Western RailwayCooke and Wheatstone 5 needle system electric telegraph installed between Paddington and Hanwell. This was the first commercial telegraph line (and in fact first commercial use of electricity) and the public were able to pay to send messages.
9/4/1839Great Western RailwayElectric telegraph completed from Hanwell to West Drayton. Later extended to Slough.
1/7/1839Great Western RailwayMaidenhead (Old) to Twyford opened. Stations on this section at: Maidenhead (New), and Twyford.
17/12/1840Great Western RailwayFaringdon Road to Hay Lane (just west of Swindon) opened. Stations on this section at: Uffington, Shrivenham, Stratton Park Halt, Swindon, Hay Lane (But was this a station?).
All dates for Great Western Railway
Search chronology: