A History of Britain’s Railways

London and South Western Railway

Home Home   Mail me Contact

This page
Local area


This site
Great Western Railway
London and South Western Railway

Other sites

London and South Western Railway

This line is still open This line has its origins as the London and Southampton Railway.

Survey To be entered
Engineers Joseph Locke
Act 1834
Contractors To be entered
Opened 1840
Closed No

Clickable map of the London and South Western Railway

1846, Branch to Richmond
1847, Dorchester
1847, Buys Bodmin & Wadebridge Rly
1848, Extended to Waterloo
1848, Salisbury
1849-56 Richmond extended to Windsor and Reading
1859, Portsmouth Direct line
1860, Exeter
1875, with Midland Railway gains control of Somerset and Dorset Railway
1876, Plymouth
1880, With the London, Brighton and South Coast Railway an extension to the Isle of Wight Railway was built from Ryde Esplanade to Ryde Pier Head to improve the handling of the ferry traffic from Portsmouth.
1885, Line build to new Guildford line via Cobham
1888, Bournemouth, not on orig line to Poole, had direct line from 1888
1892, acquires southampton docks
1898, Waterloo and City electric tube opened (Underground)
1899, Padstow
1906, Bakerloo line opened (Underground)
1906, Salisbury accident ends racing for the coast.
1915, Electrification of suburban lines begins
1922 - 862 miles and 157 joint miles
1922, Marshalling yard at Feltham near Hounslow opd
1923, Grouped into the Southern Railway
1926, Hampstead line (Underground)

Page created on 19/01/2001
Page last edited on: 24/03/2012
Contact: Ewan Crawford